2 star review

Review – When an Alpha Purrs by Eve Langlais

When an Alpha Purrs

I received a copy of When an Alpha Purrs in a contest from Book Loving Pixies. And I absolutely agree with Tracy, I read Eve Langlais for the humor, and was waiting to get this book until it fit my budget. So, I was completely thrilled to win a copy. Thanks Pixies!

A lion’s pride isn’t defined only by those he commands but also resides with his hair, so when a human dares to butcher Arik’s mane, he gets his revenge—and claims her as his mate.

A billionaire CEO and leader of the largest East Coast pride, Arik is a ladies man and a lion. Used to commanding others, and obedience, he can’t believe it when a hairdresser with tempting curves chops off a hunk of his precious mane.

But her biggest mistake is in running from him.

Run as fast as you can, little mouse, because this cat loves to chase—and pounce.

Oh, and he also likes to nibble on tender bits. What he doesn’t expect is to fall for a human woman, a woman who can make the impossible happen because everyone knows lions can’t purr…until now.

Now onto the review:

Yes, I was excited and looking forward to a humorous romp. And I was on a high from WINNING (I almost never win thing). So maybe I was just expecting too much. This book started perfectly. We have a spitfire hairdresser heroine who takes her revenge against a misogynistic alpha-hole hero. He’s an appropriately arrogant and self-absorbed king of the jungle, as Lion shifters should always be. They have some pretty funny banter where Kira enumerates his flaws…alphabetically, and Arik tries to counter with his virtues, again alphabetically. But as soon as Kira takes her revenge for his truly rotten behavior, the navel gazing started. And it was epic navel gazing taking so much room in the story from both of their perspectives, that what should have been a good mystery/suspense was minimized and side lined to the point of no return. Basically, Kira and Arik fell flat for me, and so did their story. And then I kept really noticing how Arik is Kira spelled backwards and I found myself really irked by that. And then we hit the end and Kira almost completely just disappeared. At least the Kira from the start of the book, she just accepts that shifters exist and this improbable change in her circumstances. The End

So two stars for this book, because it was OK. There were some really funny moments, but most of this book did not trip my buttons in a good way. But, I will still be picking up the second one because the snippets I have seen look great and I am really hopeful it will be more my style.

For the record, I still really adore many of Eve Langlais’ books, and I highly suggest starting with Delicate Freakn’ Shifter, Bunny and the Bear, or the Cyborg series.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Review – When an Alpha Purrs by Eve Langlais

  1. anna@herding cats & burning soup says:

    Aw that’s too bad. I love hers but haven’t read this one yet. I wonder if the names were on purpose? I totally wouldn’t have noticed that. It’s funny how sometimes something like that can just get under your skin so bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think there was room for the characters to do more, it’s just their improbable circumstances and lack of action because of them. I’m hopeful the next one will do it for me. I hate having to give negative reviews.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Review – When a Beta Roars by Eve Langlais | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  3. Pingback: Review – When an Omega Snaps by Eve Langlais | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  4. Pingback: Review – A Tiger’s Bride by Eve Langlais | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

