4 star review

Review – Siren’s Call by Jayne Castle

Sirens Call

The dust bunnies are here! Seriously, I adore Jayne Castle’s (AKA: Jayne Ann Krentz AKA: Amanda Quick) dust bunnies and her Harmony world. This is book 12 in the Harmony Series and either book 4 or 5 (depending on how you are counting them) in the Rainshadow part of the series.

In the mysterious world of Harmony, there are places filled with unexplored marvels. But Rainshadow Island isn’t about to give up its secrets…

In the alien catacombs of Rainshadow, there are creatures whose compelling songs lure the unwary to their death. That’s why Rafe Coppersmith, hired to clear out the catacombs for exploration, needs a music talent. He’s knows the perfect one, but she probably doesn’t want anything do with him…

Ella Morgan had once fallen hard and fast for Rafe, but then he disappeared for months…and he’s not about to tell her why. Ella, too, has secrets that only her dust bunny knows. She’s not just a music talent, she’s a Siren: a paranormal singer capable of singing men to sleep—or to their deaths.

But once on Rainshadow, Rafe and Ella will learn that surrendering to passion doesn’t come without risks—and fighting fire with fire only adds to the flame…

I honestly don’t know about that blurb. I mean I guess it describes the book, it just doesn’t describe it like I experienced reading it, if that makes any sense. I don’t think I ever even bothered to read the blurb prior to making this post, because I knew I would be reading this book, because the thing that seems to be frustrating readers at this point in the series, is one of the things I am enjoying about it; you know exactly what you are getting. And right now that just seems comforting to me. And as always there are fun little nuggets for the intrepid reader who go across genres and pen names. And I love digging for them. As Always, you don’t have to cross through everything to enjoy the books, but since I do, I will make mention of a few of the cross-links because those are fun for me, so reader beware.

We are back in Rainshadow this time, with the newly discovered Wonderland catacombs, and freaking alien engineered dinosaurs. Yes, you read that right, dinosaurs. But on Harmony, everything is twisted a little bit, and these dinosaurs cast psychic lures like the Sirens of old Earth legend. Fortunately for Rafe Coppersmith (descendant of the same Coppersmiths from Krentz’s Dark Legacy series), he knows just the Siren to handle the job. Unfortunately, there is some acrimony there. There is also some concern, because even among the Arcane Society, Sirens are pretty typically considered one of the monsters.

With good reason, as reading through past series, they have pretty typically turned out to be villains. But that is one of those switches I appreciate in Castle/Krentz/Quick’s works, she’s not afraid to do some twisting of skills and types within her own framework. She may flip the script, but it still makes sense within her worlds’ logic. I also appreciate the care she takes in crafting the physiological and psychological effects of the talents she designs, they almost never feel like they come from out of no where. Assuming humans had evolved into psychic beings, I can see her talents making sense within that schema.

As for the story, it was just plain fun. And Lorelei with her accessorizing may be the cutest dust bunny yet. Of course I always say that, but it is always true. Siren’s Call has kidnappings, intrigues, double crosses, red herrings and of course two people falling in love. Yes it is a formula, but the difference is in the details and I love how she tweaks the formula for each set of characters and their needs and capabilities.

No it is not groundbreaking, but as I said, it is fun, and I think I’ll continue to enjoy these annual trips to Harmony for as long as she decides to take us there. Even despite the fact that Harmony is getting to be a little filled up with all the old world gangs that came across the Curtain.

On another note, I am still hoping for two books to come out, Quick’s third Ladies of Lantern Street, and Krentz’s third Dark Legacy. I know she doesn’t owe them to us, nor do I think she has promised them, but trilogies just seem to be her thing; one which i have come to depend on, and I think there are circles to be closed here.

Siren's Call (A Rainshadow Novel)

Standard

2 thoughts on “Review – Siren’s Call by Jayne Castle

  1. Pingback: Most Anticipated Books of 2015 a Retrospect | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  2. Pingback: Review – Illusion Town by Jayne Castle | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

