5 star review

Review – Archangel’s Enigma by Nalini Singh

Naasir is the most feral of the powerful group of vampires and angels known as the Seven, his loyalty pledged to the Archangel Raphael. When rumors surface of a plot to murder the former Archangel of Persia, now lost in the Sleep of the Ancients, Naasir is dispatched to find him. For only he possesses the tracking skills required—those more common to predatory animals than to man.

Enlisted to accompany Naasir, Andromeda, a young angelic scholar with dangerous secrets, is fascinated by his nature—at once playful and brilliant, sensual and brutal. As they race to find the Sleeping archangel before it’s too late, Naasir will force her to question all she knows…and tempt her to walk into the magnificent, feral darkness of his world. But first they must survive an enemy vicious enough to shatter the greatest taboo of the angelic race and plunge the world into a screaming nightmare…

Nalini Singh is another one of those authors that I have been reading and in love with for much longer than I have been blogging. Archangel’s Shadows seemed to be one of the more polarizing books in this series, but considering we are now on book 8 for this series, it would be surprising if there hadn’t been at least one controversial book. I really enjoyed Shadows and it left me absolutely intrigued about the next hero. And for those who haven’t gotten into this series, this is not a stand alone, the series really must be read in order to understand what is going on.

And Nalini Singh had left me positively salivating over her teasers regarding Naasir. So I started it as soon as I had a minute and read during my lunch break, and then bitterly regretted not picking a time when I wouldn’t have to stop. I can’t stress this enough, do not pick this up until you have the time to truly sit and read this. I think this might be the best book in the series so far, and I don’t say that lightly.

Naasir was a terribly enticing “tiger creature”, just a perfect blend of animal innocence and playfulness with enough self-aware sexy man to make him just right, and terribly attractive. Fun and straightforward, but cunning where it counted. I liked him even better than I expected, and learning his secrets was a great enjoyment. Andromeda, frankly at the start I wasn’t sure I would like her at all, let alone for Naasir, even with the sparring teaser she just seemed too buttoned up and too mired in her troubles. But she turned out to be perfect.

As for the story itself, we learned quite a bit more about the cascade, Lijuan and Charisemnon need to die now more than ever, and there were some timely appearances by the rest of the series favorites, but mostly this was Naasir and Andromeda’s story. And Naasir’s back story was wonderful and heartbreaking all at the same time. Elena is never going to guess it, not in a million years.

As for Andromeda, this is the second book in a row where the Big Secret was used to great effect, and had me almost ripping my hair out and screaming “JUST TELL HIM ALREADY!”. But it really was an untenable situation, so I couldn’t really blame Andromeda. And I have to admit, between her vow of celibacy and each of their secrets, it kept the tension through the roof.

I am going to stop now because anything else is going to devolve into rabid fan girl screaming. I completely recommend this series, and this book in particular.

Also, count me in for team Bluebell+Sparkle. I ship that so hard it hurts. I am figuring the next book will be another Raphael and Elena book. Then we have Illium, Aodhan, and Venom to see to.

Archangel's Enigma (Guild Hunter, #8)

Standard

3 thoughts on “Review – Archangel’s Enigma by Nalini Singh

  1. Pingback: On series – holding on, pushing through, and letting go. | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  2. Pingback: Most Anticipated Books of 2015 a Retrospect | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  3. Pingback: Review -Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

