4 star review

Review – Devoted in Death by JD Robb

Devoted in Death

Book 41 in J.D. Robb’s (AKA Nora Roberts) In Death series is more police procedural than mystery or who-dun-it. We get to meet the villain right from the start and then the rest of the story tracks how Eve her husband Roarke, and the rest of the team solve the case and catch the killers.

I can’t imagine how hard it must be to keep things fresh 41 books into the series, but die-hard fans like me are likely to find this one kind of cozy. As opposed to Obsession in Death, Beloved characters aren’t really threatened, there isn’t a mystery for the readers since we already know the who and the where, we are just along for the ride to find out how. So yeah, despite horrific deaths etc, this one is cozy. We spend time with most all our favorite characters and see them interacting.

This particular story added some interest though with the inclusion of a new temporary character, a southern cop who was a nice bit of enjoyment. I wouldn’t mind him popping in again. And Robb just continues to push, or let DeWinters try to push herself into the group, so we have what looks like a new permanent addition. We also had the (relatively) happy situation of having victims that can be saved, which is something i always enjoy and which lends a bit more urgency to the story for me. We also had some fun with Eve being temporarily banned from coffee and a new marriage rule.

It is another solid entry for die-hard fans, but I can see where the bloom might be off the rose for some people. For myself, I am perfectly content to keep dipping into Eve and the gang’s lives. But I do sometimes wonder, am I content still because I am a re-reader? Would a person who isn’t a re-reader be more likely to be disaffected by this point in the series?

Devoted in Death (In Death, #41)

5 thoughts on “Review – Devoted in Death by JD Robb

  1. Nervous Nell Justice says:

    I agree with what you are saying for some new readers looking into reading Eve and Roarke for the first time. The series is daunting – I started when the book list was only at 20, so that wasn’t so intimidating. However, when I started with book 1, I fell in love with the characters and I binge read until I was caught up. I did it in 6 months. The books were riveting. The mysteries were fresh enough to keep me coming back, but what really kept me coming back were the characters. I NEEDED to know what happened. The only part that I still have a hard time with is when Morris was denied his happiness with Amaryllis. That still makes me sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t even imagine starting this series with so many in now. And it’s not like you can jump in anywhere. For the mysteries, sure, bit it’s more about the characters, and that you can’t get without following the progression.

      I’m pretty sure I started when there were about 20 too. Let’s see, I picked them up when one of my MILs urged me to, and I was doing a rotation in Houston down in the medical center,and picking them up at Half Priced Books, so that must have been in 2005. I mostly caught up that semester because I’d hang out at the book store reading them and waiting for rush hour traffic to get through before heading home.

      And yeah, the Morris Amaryllis thing is probably one of the worst in the series.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: On series – holding on, pushing through, and letting go. | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  3. Pingback: Favorite Books of 2015 | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  4. Pingback: Review – Brotherhood in Death by JD Robb | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s