4 star review

Review – The Single Undead Moms Club

Single Undead Moms Club

It has been interesting seeing how Molly Harper has spun off from her original Jane Jameson series. This is book 4 in her Half-Moon Hollow series, and the gang is all here in all their snarky, irreverent glory.

Widow Libby Stratton arranged to be turned into a vampire after she was diagnosed with late-stage cancer. It wasn’t the best idea she’s ever had, but she was desperate—she’s not about to leave her seven-year-old son to be raised by her rigid, overbearing in-laws.

On top of post-turning transition issues, like being ignored at PTA meetings and other mothers rejecting her son’s invitations for sleepovers, Libby must deal with her father-in-law’s attempts to declare her an unfit mother, her growing feelings for Wade—a tattooed redneck single dad she met while hiding in a closet at Back to School Night—and the return of her sire, who hasn’t stopped thinking about brave, snarky Libby since he turned her.

With the help of her new vampire circle, Libby negotiates this unfamiliar quagmire of legal troubles, parental duties, relationships, and, as always in Harper’s distinct, comedic novels, “characters you can’t help but fall in love with”

Seriously, despite the love triangle, a convention that in general I abhor, I found this one charming. Granted, I did peek to the ending to see which way it went, but I had a pretty good idea after the first 4 chapters. Seriously, it is a fun crowd, and one of the things I appreciate so much is Harper’s emphasis on friendships, and particularly female friendships. By this point in time sliding back into the group is like putting on your favorite most comfortable pair of shoes. You can go anywhere with them. Even in this case with an entirely new set of characters, and a convention I don’t particularly like.

You just can’t help but like Libby. She doesn’t always do the right thing, but she isn’t malicious, and she always tries to do the best for her son. She’s just so real and down to earth. She is a perfect addition to the gang, and I for one am going to enjoy having her around. She’s another friend for me to hang out with when I visit Half-Moon Hollow. Then there are her two love interests, the both of whom are just scrumptious, but I found only one of them truly relevant from the beginning, but that may just be bias on my part. We’ve also got a few adorable little plot-moppets mucking around. They are a good addition because really, despite all the undead and paranormals littering the scene, this series is about small town life and families. So they were both adorable and relevant.

Half-Moon Hollow is honestly one of my favorite fictional places to visit. The people feel very real to me, and the setting isn’t too far from home. I could plunk myself down there and never feel like I was missing a beat. I think the only reason I didn’t rate it any higher was because it felt really short, and so a few plot points felt a little more glossed over than I would have preferred. But all in all I recommend these books (seriously start at the beginning with the Jane Jamison series) to anyone who is a fan of paranormal romance with ensemble casts, small town romance, or in this case a mish-mash of the two. And TSUMC is a delightful addition that opens up some fun characters for the series to continue with. I think I have a clue who the next main hero is going to be, and I can’t wait!

The Single Undead Moms Club (Half-Moon Hollow, #4)

Standard

5 thoughts on “Review – The Single Undead Moms Club

  1. Pingback: Review – Fangs for the Memories by Molly Harper | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  2. Pingback: Favorite Books of 2015 | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  3. Pingback: Review – Where the Wild Things Bite by Molly Harper | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

