News, Thoughts and Opinions

2016 in Review

We’ll just say that 2016 was not my best year, on so many metrics. It was slumpy, and frumpy, and cranky. So very cranky. And while I may not have read as many books as usual, or what felt like as many really good ones, compared to the average population I would say quite a bit of reading has been done. I read 275 books of which approximately 150 or so were not rereads.

I am going to try to highlight some of my favorites now:

I haven’t and probably won’t end up reviewing these, because the kind of gorging I just did is not conducive to thoughtful reviewing. But I just read the 8 books in Jean Johnson’s connected series Their’s Not to Reason Why and First Salik War. I first plopped book 5 of TNTRW on my TBR in 2014 with a note that I wasn’t going to start the series until the book was completed because I hate to wait, and then somehow I forgot about it. Meanwhile, a prequel trilogy was also completed before I got around to it. I picked of the first in First Salik War late on 12/27/2016 and blazed through both series even WITH family events and happenings by New Years Day 2017. Needless to say I was engrossed, and if this author ever returns to this world, so will I.

Beyond Surrender was a bittersweet end to a much loved series.

One Fell Sweep was my happy place.

Dark Deeds and Dark Minds was another world I could have happily continued to explore, but is now closed.

Archangel’s Heart

Alliance-Another series I am sad to see the end of.

The Undoing-Good quirky fun and I really need some more.

Magic Binds-the authorlords hit it out of the park as far as I am concerned.

And Warrior Wench, which is the only one that isn’t a five that I am throwing on this list, but it was just such a surprise for me that I had to include with the admonishment to gauge it by neither cover nor title.

I am not going any further, I am not speculating about the coming year, I am just going to make small goals and try to achieve them without stress.

Standard

4 thoughts on “2016 in Review

  1. Pingback: #TBRChallenge 2017 -Theirs Not to Reason Why & First Salik War by Jean Johnson | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

