Challenge, News

2017 Challenges: #TBRChallenge #FitReaders

tbrchallenge2017

I will be joining this challenge again this year, probably complete with chastisement posts if I don’t follow through again. I had a lot of fun with it, though I am fairly certain my TBR grew 4 books for every one I managed to pull off it. Ceste la vie?

fitreaders-2017

I am also going to be adding a new challenge this year. I know some of my blagh this past year is from my poor health. Lack of sleep, stress, and probably most relevant has been my weight. In October 2016 I weighed at 196 pounds, I could not get up off the floor by myself. I used to be fit and active and just way more capable. SO I wanted to get back to that, I started out just tracking steps with Google Fit with my phone and went back to MyFitnessPal, moved to a basic pedometer I received for free through a work sponsored weight loss program, and a couple of weeks ago I “invested” in a FitBit Charge 2 that I got myself for Christmas knowing that I take things more seriously when I spend money on them (as I am known for being notoriously cheap). I am also one of those who does better if they put it all out there for people to look at so feel free to “friend” me on either of those services if you are using them too. I have lost 25 pounds, but that isn’t enough since the goal is to be healthier. To that end my reading is being done while walking around (safely in my own home or yard) and I am trying to exercise more. MY mantras are two fold.

  1. Never lay when I can sit, never sit when I can stand, never stand when I can walk.
  2. 16×625=10,000=6.25 minute an hour. Every little bit adds up.

Hence the challenge. I am not sure yet how often I will check in or how I will display my progress, or lack thereof, but display it I will.

december-2016-fitbit

And beyond that, I am just going to try to take a go with the flow and flexible attitude, which isn’t in my nature, but something’s got to give, and I need it to NOT be my body.

Standard

3 thoughts on “2017 Challenges: #TBRChallenge #FitReaders

  1. I, too, signed up for SuperWendy’s TBR Challenge again–we’ll see how it goes.

    Mental note: check what I’m supposed to read this month!!!!

    Also, I’m with you on the getting healthier bit. I raised my desktop at work, so that I work standing, and while I stand, I do steps (like those aerobic classes of yore? just walking in place). It has helped me a bit, cardio-wise, but I have a long way to go. My goal for the next six months is to lose at least the 25 pounds I put on since my mother got sick last July–any weight I lose after that, is gravy.

    Here’s to a healthier us, my dear!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

