Challenge

#FitReaders- Weekly Check-In July 7, 2017

 

Another week, another Vitamix soup. The red bell pepper helped with color, but it was oddly sweeter than the carrots. Not sure if that was the pepper itself or something about the vegetables this week.

Here is my current recipe for what I am calling Sneaky Tomato Soup.

  • 1 box beef broth/4 cups (or chicken if you aren’t a freak like me who likes their tomato soup beefy)
  • 1 cup broccoli (roasted)
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 2 cans Basil, Garlic, Oregano diced tomatoes (=3.5 cups)
  • 1 cup fresh campari tomatoes roasted
  • 1 large red bell pepper (roasted)
  • 2 cups corn (roasted)
  • 2 cups celery
  • 2 cups onion (roasted)
  • 2 cloves garlic (roasted)

Roast any roasted vegetables in the oven at 425 for about 20-25 minutes. Put all ingredients into a pot then add enough water to equal 4 or so quarts (add bouillon cubes if you like yours beefy and salty and your diet can handle it-I added 4 but I am a Campbell’s plebe) and simmer down until you reach 3.5 quarts. Split into two batches and use Vitamix soup program or equivalent. Then pour back into pot and mix well. Then split into seven 2-cup mason jars (this time I then poured it all back in the Vitamix jar and it was easier to pour into the mason jars with them sitting in the sink than it was to ladle). Put about half in the fridge and the other half in the freezer.

So for Women 31-50 the USDA recommends the following vs what is in my soup:

Dark Green Vegetables: 1.5 Cups        vs       1.5 cups

Red/Orange Vegetables: 5.5 cups       vs       5.5 cups

Beans and Peas: 1.5 cups      vs            NONE

Starchy Vegetables: 5 cups      vs      2 cups

“Other” Vegetables: 4 cups      vs      4 cups

 

Stats: Week July 2-7, 2017

Doing well overall. Sleep backslid a bit but I will keep plugging along. And I plan to get my June and July 5Ks in on Saturday and Sunday July 8-9.

 

July 7 ActiveJuly 7 DistanceJuly 7 StepsJuly 7 Sleep

Standard

2 thoughts on “#FitReaders- Weekly Check-In July 7, 2017

    • I know I should go for a cold soup, but I find them a little creepy. Fortunately, (or unfortunately) my office is frigid so hot soups work fine. I just drink them with a fat straw from the mason jars, and pretend they are a delightful hot beverage.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

