4 star review

Review – Deal with the Devil by Cynthia Eden

Deal with the Devil

by Cynthia Eden

Deal with the Devil

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher, via Netgalley; this does not affect my opinion of this book or the content of my review.

This is book 4 in the Purgatory series, and the one I have been waiting for ever since the first book. Eric Pate has been a devious, manipulating, by any means necessary SOB. This is the kind of man who will shoot his own sister in the heart if he thinks it is for her own good. Oh yes, I’ve been waiting for his comeuppance.

So it isn’t a stretch to find he’s locked a woman up “for her own good”. Only, the last thing Ella needs is to be contained again. The last thing she can tolerate is being caged, and she doesn’t need him or anyone else to protect her. Ella is kind, and compassionate, and a little bit evil, and a lot filled with rage. Needless to say, I really liked her. Eric, not so much, he’s kind of an emotionally stunted idiot. But don’t worry, Ella absolutely gets to whollop him with a great big “I told you so”, and that was glorious.

There’s also plenty of action, a twisty ridiculous mystery, and off course an evil villain. That villain at first seemed to be a bit of a McGuffin, but it turns out, he explains everything. All the crazy sauce we’ve seen thus far had a very interesting backstory, we just didn’t know it at the time. Some readers may think it goes too far in tying things up, but for me it just worked and made previous events make so much more sense.

The only thing keeping this from being a 5 star book for me is the ending, something-and I’m not sure what, just fell a little flat for me. Otherwise, it was a fun and satisfying read. Crazy creatures, hot romance, and a happy ending. A perfect read for after a long day at work. 4 stars

Standard

Leave a comment