3.5 star review

Review – Witch, Cat, and Cobb by J.K. Pendragon

Witch Cat and Cobb

Destined for an arranged marriage she wants nothing to do with, Princess Breanwynne decides that the only option for escape is to run away. Upon the announcement of this plan, her trusted pet cat reveals he can talk by asking that she take him along. Listening to his suggestion to venture into the lair of the Swamp Witch proves to be a very bad idea, but Breanwynne would rather face a witch any day than be forced to marry a prince.

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher, via Netgalley, this does not affect my opinion of this book or the content of my review.

I picked this up because it sounded interesting, and it is out of my comfort zone. I think it can get a little too easy to just read the “safe” things, and you can miss so many gems.

And make no mistake, this one, despite its short length, is a gem. A sweet, magical, fairy-tale with a few unusual twists, this was an enjoyable read. At around 20,000 words, it is very short, so I hate to say too much and risk spoiling it. It was an interesting premise, with characters I liked, who had back stories I would have loved to read more of, and of course the requisite happy ending but with a bit of a twist.

And because we always question when it comes to self-pubbed or alternative presses, rest assured, this was well edited and well written. Honestly I would love to see what J.K. Pendragon could do with full length novel word counts, and I may just pick up some other works. And, well I don’t know if this was Pendragon’s intent, or if they would take it as a compliment or condemnation, but it felt, for lack of a better word, accessible. LGBTQIA is not my usual milieu, but once I started reading it, that isn’t how I thought of it. It was an enjoyable fantasy love story.

Witch, Cat, and Cobb
Edited: Thanks to AV Sanders for alerting me that Less Than Three Press titles are available at all major retailers once they are released! You apparently just can’t get them pre-ordered.

Standard

9 thoughts on “Review – Witch, Cat, and Cobb by J.K. Pendragon

    • Thanks for letting me know! I usually just link to Goodreads, because I am lazy and do not have a script since I don’t self host. From there I figure that people can find the retailer of their choice. But I do try to check and make sure that Goodreads retail links work. I didn’t know why it didn’t this time, but I surely didn’t want people not to be able to find a place to buy it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. wendyblack1 says:

    I nominated you for the 3 Day quote challenge on my page! Go check it out! I figured as much as you read, you’ve probably got some really great quotes up your sleeve.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 3 Day Quote Challenge –Day One | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  3. Pingback: Review – The Forbidden Zone by Victoria Zagar | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  4. Pingback: Favorite Books of 2015 | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

  5. Pingback: 2 Year Blogiversary | ...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Leave a comment